beth on style me pretty!

We had the incredible, absolute pleasure of being featured on Style Me Pretty last Friday! We’re over the moon to have our first *unofficial* Lovely Day wedding grace the pages of our favorite wedding blog and wanted to share the pretty with all of you!

From Beth… Planning my wedding was a labor of love, and the true final inspiration for the launch of Lovely Day. After years in the corporate event planning and marketing business, the task of designing my own wedding was one of the most fun and fulfilling projects ever! It started with a venue on the Connecticut coast – we walked down the long driveway of Eolia Mansion at Harkness Memorial State Park and were sold immediately. It’s a beautiful old house named after the island home of the Greek God of the winds. The stately mansion set on 230 acres of seaside property overlooking Long Island Sound was built in 1906 and purchased by the Harkness family in 1907. It served as their summer home until it was donated to the State of Connecticut in 1950.

Eolia (and similar CT mansions Brandford House, Wadsworth, and Lord Thompson Manor) book quickly each year, so we snagged the last open Saturday in 2012, August 18. The mansion and its gardens influenced our design and style, which ended up being slightly vintage and very much a dinner party for our closest friends and family. We set our priorities for incredible food (Gourmet Galley), an amazing photographer (Katie Slater) and a kickin’ band (Gypsy Wisdom). The rest fell into place over a year of planning with many weekend DIY projects and a very patient husband-to-be.

I quickly fell in love with my dress at the Pronovias flagship store in Manhattan. Choosing a ballgown took me by surprise (I don’t see myself as THAT girly!), but it just felt right and the lace detail was truly exquisite. They took such good care of me and each fitting was such a pleasure. Plus it was tons of fun to wear! When else do you get to sashay in a ballgown?! I splurged on Manolos and set my sights on Amsale for my maids. The girls helped me pick the color and style, a nautical-inspired French Blue with a stylish one-shoulder detail. The boys wore light grey, summer-weight suits by Jos A Bank and Vineyard Vines ties, another nod to the seaside venue.

Screen shot 2013-05-13 at 6.21.25 PM

Inspiration came from everywhere: I surfed Style Me Pretty, 100 Layer Cake, Green Wedding Shoes and Pinterest daily (read: hourly) and racked up a pin board of 223 pins. I found great things on Etsy and chose Mr.Boddington (a well-worth-it splurge) for our invitation suite. They created simple but stunning wedding paper for us and we used their monogram on some husband-built cornhole boards for the mansion lawn.

Screen shot 2013-05-13 at 6.20.16 PM

We had a sweet wedding officiated by Reverend Victoria Burdick, a darling lady who told our story with such love in a ceremony many of our guests said they’ll always remember. We chose to get married in one of the gardens overlooking the sea, while our guests gathered under the mansions lovely stone pergola.

45309_701828373436_421055048_n

Jane at Just For You floral design created the most beautiful pastel bouquets, tying mine with lace from my mother’s wedding gown. The reception florals were all unique, using a combination of various blue glass and pewter containers. The combination of long banquet tables, family-style serving and soft candlelight created a dinner party atmosphere for our guests we absolutely loved.

542052_672452203516_435320593_n

With so many details coming from multiple vendors, I knew immediately that I needed an expert to pull it off on the big day. I hired Diana Chouinard of Jubilee Events for month-of coordination and she was my eyes and ears on the day – making sure each element was executed perfectly while I sat upstairs in the bridal suite sipping champagne with my maids. After our wedding was said and done, it was the combination of my love for planning and event design, and knowing exactly how important a day-of coordinator can be that sparked the idea for Lovely Day Styling & Events.

Colleen and I launched the business in January and I cannot wait for the weddings we’ve booked for this year. We’ve been blessed with the opportunity to do what we love, and we can’t wait to see how our business grows! I’m happy that my love for weddings didn’t end with my own, and I get so excited for each and every one of our Lovely Day couples.

For more about our day, check out our Style Me Pretty feature here!

Screen shot 2013-05-13 at 6.26.55 PM

xoxo,

B

2 thoughts on “beth on style me pretty!

Leave a Reply

