guest blogger: erin of simply gorgeous by erin

With a new season (yay for Harvest!) approaching, there’s no better time to update your makeup bag so we’ve enlisted the oh-so-amazing Erin Infantino of Simply Gorgeous by Erin to share her must-haves and give us a look into the kit of a professional makeup artist. Enjoy! xo, B & C

I still remember some of the first makeup products I purchased with my own money.  First there was Barbie’s compact to give your skin an even glow, also known as, “Oopma Loompa” glow. Then there was the time when I decided in 7th grade I was grown up and it was about time I had my own eyeliner in electric teal to match my pink and teal braces. We’ve all gone through some awesome makeup faux pas like these but some of you out there may still be guilty of some less than flattering faux pas as adults. Let me guide you!

First let it be said that not one favorite makeup artist product works for everyone. Every year magazines rate the “must have” “one size fits all” cosmetics and believe me, many of these don’t do the job for me or many others despite the awards they win. So I will simply list some of my top products I have had in my makeup arsenal for years and just can’t part with.

beauty blog post_082313

#1 My obsession with lashes is no secret to those who know me. Mascara would be my item I would take to a deserted island with me. I have many that I have tried and loved and then got sick of or swear they changed the formula on me. My current favorite high-end mascara is Smashbox Full Exposure. They give me insanely long and full lashes without the appearance of spider legs. For a drugstore brand I like CoverGirl LashBlast; it doesn’t provide as much volume as Smashbox but it’s a great one for half the price. Get either in black. Always choose black.

#2 Concealer, or “sleep in a bottle,” is a must in my routine if I want to look half awake. Don’t go too light so you get raccoon eyes and don’t go too dark so that you look even more tired. Pick a shade close to the shade of your face’s natural skin tone. For high-end I LOVE Clé de Peau Beauté. It has a velvet finish and doesn’t crease easily like many others tend to. It’s rather absurdly priced but it lasts me about a year per tube. For an inexpensive alternative I love Cinema Secrets Foundation palettes. It says foundation but I use it for concealer on all my clients. Nothing beats it for coverage.

#3 I love eyeliner. You can do a crisp, winged line or a sultry smudged line. Bobbi Brown Gel Liners are the way to go. Once this goes on it’s not going anywhere until you wash your face, and they come in an incredible assortment of colors. I prefer to apply it with Bobbi’s eyeliner brush to get a laser-precise line when I need to and I also “tight line” my top lash line with her black or denim (a deep navy hue to make the whites of your eyes pop).

#4 Shadow primer is a fantastic product that is like concealer for your eyelids. It helps the true color of eyeshadows show up and stay all day and night. I prefer primers over concealers because of the consistency being not as emollient as a traditional concealer and therefore less likely to crease on the lid. I like Urban Decay Primer Potion in Eden and I also like MAC Paint Pots in Soft Ochre. You’ll be amazed at the difference these make in how your eye makeup looks.

#5 Aquaphor. Yes, Aquaphor that you find in the baby aisle. I apply this to my lips all the live-long day. You will never have chapped lips again while using this product. I discovered it while my nephew was an infant and had eczema. We would apply Aquaphor to his affected areas and I was constantly kissing him and realized I loved this stuff for my lips. Win!

So there you have it; some fantastical products that you will always see in my makeup kit. Don’t be afraid to try new products. I always tell my clients during makeup lessons that makeup is not a tattoo. If you hate it you can wash it off. Thank God for that otherwise I would be living with electric teal eyeliner on my eyes.

Feel free to contact me at erin@simplygorgeousbyerin.com or on Facebook with any questions or if you want some more tips…I do makeup lessons in CT as well!

xo,
Erin

Leave a Reply

