2013 emmy’s fashion roundup

People watch TV for lots of reasons. I have “my shows” that usually clog our DVR because I don’t have time to watch them (Homeland, Scandal, Orphan Black, Downton Abbey and The Good Wife to name a few) but TV has such a smaller presence in my life now than it did years ago. I simply have about a million other things I could/should be doing at home (laundry, packing client gifts, taking the dog to the park, going for a run so that I don’t collapse during my half-marathon in November) instead of sitting on the couch glued to the tube. My husband is the opposite. He uses TV as his downtime and there’s no place he’d rather be on a fall Sunday than horizontal on the couch watching football. I relax by running around and “housekeeping.” He relaxes with pretzel M&M’s and Pardon the Interruption. These are the things you learn in your first year of marriage.

What we can both agree on is watching award shows – but for different reasons. I crave the pre-show red carpet glamour and he watches to actually see who wins the awards. While I’ve never heard of House of Cards and haven’t seen an episode of Breaking Bad, it’s worth watching to catch a glimpse of my favorite starlets in stunning couture – and this year there were more than a handful of gowns that took cues from the bridal runways.

Check out some of our favorite looks from the red carpet:

Screen shot 2013-09-24 at 9.10.34 AM

Kerry Washington stunned in this Marchesa dream. Greek-inspired accents and flower appliques = perfection. Claire Danes looked healthy and glowing in this shimmery Armani Prive gown with a plunging neckline. LOVED her short blonde bob and bold red lip! And Malin Akerman (known to me as the ex-girlfriend of super-hottie Andrew in The Proposal), looked classic in this frothy light grey Marchesa gown with a long train. Simple and pretty!

Screen shot 2013-09-24 at 9.08.40 AM

Blush tones continue to fill the red carpet and I hope to see more brides in blush in 2014! I absolutely love the structured  ruffle at the bottom of this Zac Posen gown worn by Julie Bowen. January Jones is so fair that the neckline of this Givenchy strapless gown almost blends with her skintone, but the clean lines, gorgeous lace and banded bottom make for a soft style. And Carrie Preston – amazing as Arlene on True Blood and Eslbeth on The Good Wife – totally rocks this pale pink  Romona Keveza gown! The black trim detail adds modern sophistication and her side-swept red locks complete the look perfectly. Love her look? The Plumed Serpent in Westport carries Romona’s bridal line.

A few other red carpet trends to note: natural make up and sturdy clutches – particularly Edie Parker handmade bags!

xo,

B

Leave a Reply

